Entertainment Featured World News

2 Kenyans :Bamarssai, Cherop emerge overall winners of 2020 Access Bank Lagos City Marathon

Thirty one-year-old Kenyan long distance runner, David Bamarssai, on Saturday  emerged  the  winner of the 5th Access Bank Lagos City 42km Marathon with a time of 2:10:23. 

Also, his Kenyan female contemporary, Sharon Cherop, also emerged the winner in  the women’s category. 

Bamarssai had previously won the  2011 Dubai Marathon with the personal best time of 2:07:18  and also came fifth at the 2011 World Champions Athletics in Daegu. 

Sharon Cherop also from Kenya came first in the women category in  the 42km race. 

Kebene Chara Urisa from Ethiopia came second; Rodah Jepkorir came third, Mesere Dinke came fourth, and Kebene Chara came fifth. 

The Technical Adviser of the race, Norrie Williamson,  said the timing of the race was still in order, given the temperature under which they ran.

 “The time returned was fair enough because of the temperature, they ran fairly well with a lot of energy,” he said.

 The winner, Bamarssai   gave  thanks to God and his coach who encouraged him.

 The full list of the winners are: David Barmassai, the overall  winner with a  time of 2:10:23 and  50,000 dollars prize money; Dekebo Dakamo, an Ethopian, second. 2:10:55 and 40,000 dollars as his prize. 

Others are:   Paul Chege from Kenyan came third with a time of 2:1123, and got 30,000 dollars as his prize, Cosmooas Kyeva recorded a time of  2:11:30 and came fourth and got  20,000 dollars as his prize. 

Also; Ethopian Deresa Geleta came  fifth having recorded a time of  2:1135 and got 15,000 dollars as his prize  and the sixth position went to  Paul Matheka from Kenyan he finished with a time of  2:11:48 with 10,000 dollars as his prize.

 “The seventh position went to  Wubshet Demisse from Ethiopia  got 8,000 dollars with a time of 2:12:48, the eight position went to Moses Kurgat from Kenyan, who clocked 2:13:06 and received 6,000 dollars as his prize.

 Benard Sang from  Kenyan finished with  a time of 3:13:18, and got 4,000 dollars as his prize and the 10th position went to Tallam Cherutich from  Kenya.

 He recorded a time of 2:13:53 and received 2,000 dollars as his prize.

 Marathoners from Kenya dominated the podium, winning seven out of 10 available prize money.

Related posts

Access Bank hits N1bn in digital lending daily

By Meletus EZE

CIBN says technology key to financial servicing in rural areas


Emir of Patigi is dead


Moscow urges international institutions to curb neo-fascist propaganda in Estonia


NSE: Key performance indicators up by 0.82%


Access Bank Lagos City Marathon: LSSC assures of better traffic management

Meletus EZE

Leave a Comment

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com