Featured Politics News

7 states exempted from Saturday’s governorship polls


The Governorship election  will not hold in seven states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) TBI Africa quoted the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) as saying.

The affected states, Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Kogi, Ondo and Osun, will not be participating because their governorship elections held at different times or `off season’.

This was mainly due to court judgments that nullified the election of their governors at different times in the past.

However, the State Houses of Assembly elections will be conducted in all the 36 states.

The FCT will not witness both elections because it is run by a minister, who is appointed by the President, with laws made by the National Assembly.

But Saturday will witness election of new chairmen and councillors in the six Area Councils of the territory, namely Abaji, Abuja Municipal, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje and Kwali.



Related posts

Power Supply: Gbajabiamila frowns at unpatriotic public officers


DG sacks NAFDAC consultants over anomalies, irregularities


Nigeria exporters lose $10bn annually to Apapa gridlock


Malami summoned to give evidence in ongoing Magu trial

Our Reporter

Nigerians should make themselves happy — UN


Breaking: Insurgents attack Michika

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com